Living in a Dream

Sometimes I just think too much

If I’m not mistaken…that’s a storm cloud on the Horizon.

To be stupid, selfish, and have good health are three requirements for happiness, though if stupidity is lacking, all is lost.-Gustave Flaubert

As a kid I wasn’t allowed to be selfish. If I got a present for my birthday/Christmas/etc. I was expected to share it with the whole family. Even money received for graduation to help me get started in life was supposed to be shared with the family (not that I was a financial guru at the time or anything).

These days I admit I’m often more selfish than is sometimes advisable for an adult who has supposedly learned to play nicely with others. I’m okay with that because the conclusion I’ve come to is that a person is allowed to be selfish during 1 period of their lifetime.

You can be selfish in your childhood or you can be selfish as an adult.

But you can’t have both.

At least I can’t.

 

In other news- I still haven’t heard from the government about if we owe them money or not.  My family is in the area but haven’t bothered to get in touch with me (big surprise there). And Lyo is still trying to decide if I’m drinking again or if I’m just being really really weird. Even for me. 😛

Yep Life seems to be normal again. I wonder what I can do to screw it up this time?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “If I’m not mistaken…that’s a storm cloud on the Horizon.

  1. Love the quote – hadn’t heard that one before!

  2. Thanks. 🙂 It fits my mood most days. 😛

Leave a comment